3D modeling education after graduation

I graduated with an ID degree in '07. I feel really lucky to be in a design position and have kept it after the economy went bad- unlike some of my fellow classmates. :frowning: In my current job the software I use 95% of the time is Illustrator- I have a softgoods job.

Here’s my issue—I haven’t really touched 3D modeling (rhino/SW) since school and it wasn’t my strongest skill then. Eventhough I do not need it for my current position I am a little worried about how not increasing this skill could hurt my resume in the future.

Who knows what my next job could be?

Would you reccomend taking some sort of tutorial/private course/class ? IS it possible to bring my modeling up to snuff this way?

thanks - all imput is appreciated!

Hi I kinda have a similar problem, I just accepted a soft goods job and was concerned about the same thing. However if you have a copy of the programme and some previous knowledge I think it is possible to refresh those skills and then expand on them in your own time. I plan to set myself little projects try to model up things that I doodle when im on the train etc. just to try and remember all the stuff I learnt at school and then try to learn some more.

There is a lot of free resources out on the internet, if there is something blocking your way try searching for the answer on youtube I found plenty of instructional videos walking through common tools and uses that you might need help with. I think professional courses in 3D stuff can be very expensive though it is not something I have looked into

cheers,
C

Hi,
If you are interested in Rhino, the book “working with rhino” can help you get started… it explains all the basics. Rhino is not that complex, but it seems to me, that people have a hard time “mapping” its functions, and its when you have to figure out how to
build a certain shape, it can becomes difficult…