19 year old mid life crisis

So right now I’m at the university of massachusetts, amherst. I went here because I wasn’t sure what i wanted to do so i figure i’d take a little time to figure it out. so now i’m a sophomore and i just had a couple meeting with some people at industrial design firms and LOVED what they do. I’ve always wanted a career in design but wasn’t sure what route i wanted to take. I’ve played with fashion, interior and graphic design over the past few years but I really like what ID has, with a little bit of everything thrown in.

Anyways, I was in the business school and studying french, but business is boring and I was some more extraordinary. I’m thinking of transferring but was wondering what programs anybody could recommend. Some people I’ve met with have suggested University of Cincinnati so I rummaged around their website and like the look of it but I wanted to know if anyone had any other ideas. Just to keep options open. I’m from boston but I don’t mind traveling.

Thanks!
-L

mid life crisis? give me a break, if you do it now what do you have to look forward to?

College is a great time to get away from the familiar and open your horizons (read that as leave Boston). Dig through here and you will find a lot of good and bad about many schools. UC, CCS, CIA, ACCD, Pratt, CCAD, ACU are some of the ones positively mentioned frequently.

Also look through this: http://www.core77.com/design.edu

On my Co-ops I’ve met kids from Art Center, CCS, Illinois, Ohio state, Cleveland Institute of Art, Somewhere in Philly, MIAD, and some schools in europe, they’ve all got skills.

I’d take a road trip this summer, or spring break, and give a visit to all the different schools and see what you think in person.

As Yo said, at your point in life it’s real easy(ier) to go where it looks interesting. And as Robert suggested, road trip and visit schools. You can’t go wrong with a road trip.