13" Wacom Cintiq HD or 24" HD Touch for ID?

Im a industrial designer 3rd student as well as photographer and thinking of upgrading my intuos4 to Cintiq - 13" HD or 24" HD touch. What are your thoughts on that?

Go big if you can afford it.

I got a 19" yiynova. I like how i can sit and draw upright as opposed to hunched over like on a traditional sketch book.

IMO the 13" is too small. At that point I would almost rather forfeit the quality of the Cintiq and go for a completely mobile tablet solution.

The 24HD is massive, and if you have the bank go for it.

The intermediate option is look around for a used 21UX/22HD. Almost the same useful area as the 24" but a smaller and more easily maneuvered display. The 24HD does not rotate, the 21/22" do.

Depends what you want to use it for, and the format for creating your work.

I have a 24HD (not touch) and love it - it represents basically an 11x17 sheet of paper in a 1:1 size. Most of the concept work I and my office creates is in that format. I love all of the working space available to me.

The size is big - no kidding you there. It takes up a lot of table space. But it is a fantastic unit. I also appreciate the size as I can rest my wrists/arms on the cintiq when working on it so I don’t feel like I’m hovering over the surface, the way I sometimes do on my smaller office 21" Cintiq.

The desk mount/adjustment for the 24HD is great - it allows you to bring it right down to the edge of your desk and even off/below the edge to get it lower and closer to where you are sitting.

Just my $0.02.

-D