Design for the Mid-Life: A Brief/Survey

Hello Everyone:
I’m a grad student at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia. I’m doing a small Brief/Survey of Industrial Designers as a part of my Thesis research. My Thesis deals with the possiblity for improvement during the middle of the product lifespan i.e.—the span of time between purchase and disposal. I’ve put together the Brief/Survey belowand would be grateful for anyone who is interested to participate. It should only take a few minutes, and it might actually be (sort of) fun. My goal is to get some basic input from designers, not fully resolved objects, so please don’t spend alot of time on this–10min. max. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks for your help!

Mark Havens

THE SURVEY BACKGROUND: My Thesis is about the middle of the product life cycle. By nature, industrial designers must account for the beginning of the product life cycle. Thoughtful designers also design for the end of the product life cycle (i.e.– the landfill via recyclability, sustainability, etc.). My thesis investigates the middle ground between purchase on one end and disposal on the other. What about something that has been quietly doing its job for a while or something that is almost worn out? Can it have anything new to say? Can it still surprise, intrigue, and delight? What are ways designers can ensure this middle portion of the life cycle adds another layer of experience to an object? This is not just a question of decoration or ornament. I believe all areas of design, from dialysis machines to armchairs can be made better by planning and accounting for the mid-life phase.