Close

FONTS AND THEIR USE PROBLEM

Postby rooneysoccer » May 30th, 2018, 2:17 am

rooneysoccer

Ok so i'm a sophomore in Industrial Design at UC. One of my biggest problems i'm having in my presentations for classes and my portfolio is fonts. I don't really have a clear view on what sort of fonts to use for presentation and my biggest fear is going with something bland or old so i reach out and use different serif fonts and i get called out on it. So if anyone has any good articles to look into this sort of thing or if anyone can point me in the direction of some good font family to use that would be appriciated.

Re: FONTS AND THEIR USE PROBLEM

Postby ralphzoontjens » May 30th, 2018, 3:12 am

ralphzoontjens
full self-realization
full self-realization

Hi,
The best thing to do besides picking a good font is learn to use a font well.
It is always better to use a single font in different variations.
We always keep our presentations as visual as possible since we are the ones doing the talking instead of the fonts.

It is old, but Helvetica Neue still works very well.

Other recommendations to start with:

- Gill Sans
- Garrison Sans
- Roboto
http://www.id-z.one
IDZone - Product Design || Visualisation || 3D Printing

Postby yo » May 30th, 2018, 11:04 am

yo
Administration
Administration

The way I like to think about it is your presentation should support the story you are trying to tell. Keep the type simple, direct, and focus people on the content, not the container.... in other words stick with the rule of KISS!

Postby NURB » May 30th, 2018, 11:09 am

NURB

Michael is right. Keep it simple. As for resources, there's years worth of discussion on font use scenarios out there, but your best bet is to use a simple sans-serif font. Serifs have a place, but take a certain amount of confidence and purpose to use them correctly. Presentation boards would be the last place I would look.