Interviewing and Confidentiality

Hey Everyone -

Started a new account for this post.

I’m sure that this topic has been covered, but I wasn’t coming up with much in my quick search.

A little background: I’ve been working in a corporate ID role for about 5 years now. My current organization doesn’t have more more room for growth, and I will be interviewing at a few places in the coming weeks for a more senior position. Over the course of 5 years, I’ve had more of the projects that I work on get cancelled than not. Leaving me with a portfolio of finished projects that doesn’t look like 5 years of work. There are also a few projects that I am currently working on, and I’ve always gone with the mantra that it’s OK to show work that has been released, etc etc. As you know corporate design tends to drag its feet and my current projects have been underway for more than a year.

My main question is: Is it acceptable to show this work (the cancelled projects)? I haven’t included it in my portfolio that got me in the door, but I’d like to be able to show more to the hiring managers. As a hiring manager what would you recommend? What would you do in this situation?

Thanks guys!

I think you have a few options here:

1. get permission from your boss. Has its obvious draw backs of you boss knowing you are looking.
  2. if the project is truly dead and you don’t think you will be infringing on any IP then you can make that call
  3. beef up your portfolio with some side projects that communicate what you have learned

Thanks for the response, Yo!

That’s sort of what I was thinking, too.

The company tends to like to keep the work in their back pocket for potential future projects, so without letting anyone know or asking for permission I think that’s out.

I think option 3 is probably where I was leaning. I definitely want to avoid any IP fiascos.