Design newbie looking for advice on starting a portfolio

Hey guys, i’m starting this thread as a totally fresh and newbie in regards to design. I’m a banker by profession but have always been intrigued with design as a whole but due to various circumstances i pursued a degree in business and marketing in my uni days. At the moment i am considering, pursuing an education in product design, however it requires me to come up with a portfolio.

Me being a totally inexperienced in the matter, i was hoping some of the seasoned designer could maybe give me some advice on how to start, and even some tips on the ideation process of things as everything is so foreign to me at the moment and the thought of starting a portfolio is kinda overwhelming.

So was hoping if some of you could maybe mentor or give me some pointers in the right direction for me to pursue my ambitions that’ll be great. Thanks in advance!

Start sketching.

Don’t stop.

Welcome to the Core Boards! I think the two biggest things you have to consider are 1. who is your audience, and 2. what are you passionate about. Think about who will be looking at the portfolio at the university and what types of things they may be looking for. Most universities will not be looking for a lot of skills based things, but will be more focused on seeing how you think.
This brings me to the second thing of what you are passionate about. Think about things that you have created (in whatever medium) that show how you work through problems and the steps you took. Just remember that what you are passionate about will show through in any portfolio you make. Try and show excitement for design and the design process in whatever you put out. But don’t feel like you have to have polished fine art drawings to be accepted. Just start making stuff you enjoy and document it well with nice photos.

Thanks for the reply guys. Very much appreciate the feedback.

do a project.