Do you use layers in Illustrator?

So this is basically a workflow question but I wanted to find out if I’m wasting time or doing extra work for no benefit. In illustrator I use layers consistently to separate out different aspects of my project so I can make quick edits, view different options, or just to remove extra noise so I can see the page better, etc. For me layers are hugely helpful and the gains far out way the negatives.

I have been working with several other designers who consistently do not use layers and have WAY more design experience than my self-taught background. They refuse to use layers and I’m often required to go into their files and make “quick” edits.

So big question is am I being ridiculous in my frustration and using an antiquated illustrator tool or am I completely justified?

Everybody has their own workflow. I know a designer who uses Layers as Artboards! :astonished:
I think keeping files clean through labeled layers and organization helps overall. It’s certainly refreshing when I work with files that have a certain level of structure. I think same goes for Solidworks files: clean and organized feature tree simplifies not only the file, but also your own mental organization of the design.

Whatever works for you. I also use layers in Ill & PSD unless I need to do it super fast, but then I always regret it when i have to go back to do edits.
I typically have a background layer, drop shadow, larger forms, smaller (top) forms, details, logos & text, shadows & highlights, etc.