Post why YOU design

I’m a junior ID student searching for reasons to pursue a career in industrial design after I graduate. So far I’ve learned about what the business is like and the skills needed, sort of the dry stuff, but where is the drive behind it all? What I mean is, should we be motivated by altruism, by financial gain, or for social-status (star designer types).

What is it about your work that you find Meaningful?
Why choose this profession in particular?
When did you know you were going to be a designer?

Thanks in advance.

I like to make stuff. Always have. Seems to me a smart choice on my part to get paid to make stuff. In reality, I’d rather make different stuff, but I wouldn’t get paid as well to make that other stuff.

As for the meaning behind it all, I have no idea why I like to make stuff. I just do. I also like riding a bike. But I was not genetically gifted to get paid to ride a bike.

My core motivations are constantly shifting. Different types of projects elicit different motivations. Some people thrive on one type over and over, but I find myself needing variation. There are times when I am incredibly inspired by the fact that I’m creating physical art. There are others where I find satisfaction in solving problems no one has ever solved and still others when I simply want to use my skills to make people happy. Sometimes a smile is enough. It sounds corny, but it’s true. There are other, smaller catalysts (e.g. design is my profession and how I earn a living - I just enjoy being creative), but in the end they don’t produce the real drive that keeps me going.

For me the reason of why I design is simple - I was lucky enough to be granted some innate skills that I’ve been lucky to grow into a career where I can use them full-time - drawing, story-telling, problem-solving, creating, building, etc.