Explaining what you do for a living-Industrial designer

How do you explain to people what you do in a succinct quick few words? I usually have to explain at length what exactly ID is. I realize this is quite banal but was curious how others explained themselves

Thanks and hope everyone had a safe and fun holiday!

You can probably find more answers if you do a search. I’m sure this has been discussed before. But …

I develop new products.

Are you an engineer?

No. I am an industrial designer. An engineer primarly works on the machine to machine interface, how the mechanics work. An IDer primarly works on the human to machine interface, how a person uses the product. Remember the flashing clock on the VCR that always read 12:00? That’s bad industrial design.

OK. The VCR thing dates me as an old man. But I like to point out and example of bad design because it leaves more of an impression than good design. Good design is usually not noticed, as it should be.

All the explanations only reach to a certain point, if you are talking to somebody who has no clue at all how new products come to life… So I always grab the next object of some complexity like a coffee machine and explain what engineering does and what design does. U still bump into people, who assume that design is something expensive which is only “used” for few fashionable items.

mo-i

Both great responses. I did my best to quickly search and didnt see much.

I dug up this old discussion. Pretty fun to see the level of discourse back in 2004!

Lately I say I’m a product designer. When people then ask what a product designer is, I say “do you know what an architect is? It is like that but for products”. Seems to work to varying degrees most of the time.

Michael, I like the bit about the architect comparison. Might borrow that :slight_smile:

I tell my 2 year old that daddy goes to work and draws. Works for my mom too.