Objects that have developed alternative uses

Hi,

I am currently studying for a master’s in Interaction Design and am investigating how we attach emotions to inanimate objects.

Currently I am looking at how objects can take on new functions through user interpretation, desire and need. An example of this is using a beer mat to prop up a wobbly table. Another example could be using a chair as a ladder. These uses were not originally considered in the design of the product but through user experience it can be said that if you are sitting at a wobbly table in a pub the first thing you do is look for a beer mat or if you need to change a lightbulb but can’t reach and don’t have a ladder then you look for a chair.

I am looking for you lovely people to suggest other objects that have taken on alternative uses through user experience. Objects that were designed for one purpose but we now equally associate them for alternative uses.

Thanks

Moved to General Discussion because I think you will get better responses up here.

Stack of graph paper as a mousepad (because the table top is glass) :angry:
drilled holes in the benchtop for holding screwdrivers
snowboards remanufactured as benches up at the ski resorts
$ 0.25 quarter for removing the back of my wristwatch to change the battery
classic student shelving made of hollow tile cement blocks and plywood

ducktape

Milk Crates!

About 15 years ago I got a $100 watch that came in a sweet spun aluminum cylinder… it’s been holding Q-tips on my bathroom counter since then… it has long outlasted the watch!

I’ve been using the casing for an alarm clock as a desk tidy for quite some time

Old shoeboxes often tend to get used somewhere.
and perhaps most notoriously - Supermarket bags as trash bin liners!

Last year I gave this assignment (other use of a current product) to my students with mixed results :wink:

Check them out for inspiration:
http://www.atohms.be/HEMA_1IO_PIH_howest_2009.pdf (in dutch, srry)