Anyone had this happen to them???

Hello all, I would love to know if this has happened to any of you. This past summer I went for broke. I decided to go for a job doing exactly what I love to design. SCUBA equipment. My senior thesis was based on a scuba system for parapelegics. So I went back to it with the knowledge that I now have and re-designed the entire project with the research I had already done. It was beatutiful, I found a local manufacturer in the Bay Area and decided to attack them. I told them that I was a business student working on my MBA and would just like to ask a few questions (which is true). My point here was to not go directly to the design department, but to start with the marketing dept. and get recommended to design. Well it worked “I just have a few questions about the future of the SCUBA industry, and oh by the way here is some of my work”. Like a charm it worked. I CEO was calling me the head of their sister company was calling me and I was given a test to see what I could do. Well I passed the test with flying colors. Then it was time for another test, only this one I get paid for. So I solve this problem with a new product of theirs and everyone is happy. And then NOTHING. I have not heard back from them in 2 months. No money, no replys to my emails or phone calls. Just NOTHING. I now feel useless, embarassed and confused. I still have school but this was one of my greatest accomplishments and now it is nothing. Has anyone ever had this happen to them? and does anyone know what my next step should be? The money is not as important to me as resolve. Thanks for your ears :?