Fonts and their use

Ok so i’m a sophomore in Industrial Design at UC. One of my biggest problems i’m having in my presentations for classes and my portfolio is fonts. I don’t really have a clear view on what sort of fonts to use for presentation and my biggest fear is going with something bland or old so i reach out and use different serif fonts and i get called out on it. So if anyone has any good articles to look into this sort of thing or if anyone can point me in the direction of some good font family to use that would be appriciated.

You can be the slickest design student in your class and always use Helvetica fonts. Use light, regular, and bold, that’s all you need.

If you’re really bad with fonts, and don’t want to mess with them too much, with Helvetica you can never fail.

Seriously.

edit: that is… unless you actually really do want to learn, which is what I would suggest. the Helvetica suggestion is both a joke and serious if you don’t care/don’t want to explore/or suck

Have you seen the movie HELVETICA?

Very good flick! Universe is the same way.

I recently read a great book called 30 Essential Typefaces for a Lifetime.

You should see if you can get a copy.

Book Description
There are thousands of typefaces and more being produced monthly. It is a continual challenge for designers to select the exact typeface best suited for a project. In collaboration with the School of St. Martin, Art Center Pasadena, Rhode Island School of Design, Basel, and Yale Design School, 30 Essential Typefaces for a Lifetime defines 30 of the most useful and classic typefaces for all design needs and occasions. Neville Brody imagined “it takes 10 years for someone to master a typeface.” This book contains “typefaces for a lifetime.”

From the Inside Flap