IDSA North Eastern Conference: A Look Back

So, I didn’t see a thread talking about what people thought of the conference, just a “Who is going?” Thread.

I think there some things that should be talked about. As a student, I don’t know how much merit my comments will actually have, but I was extremely disappointed with some of the things that went on.

A lot of people were very excited about Maeda being a speaker, but what about that presentation did he think was going to work? I felt like it was a giant commercial for RISD and a complete waste of my time. Although I have never generally liked the guy in the first place, his TED talks are very inspiring and well thought out. This seemed like he didn’t want to speak at all and asked some kids to talk about nothing on stage so he wouldn’t have to. Does any one else feel the same way?

And the lack of RISD presence and RIT (I believe… correct me if I am wrong) was extremely disappointed to me as a student. The fact that RISD could not have shown up to its own conference almost devalued the experience, and after such a disappointing conference last year it didn’t help validate my time and money being there. I stand behind RITs decision to not participate because of the costs to students, but 90 percent of them not being there was crushing. I am already in debt as it is, and I go to these events to really get a hope of gleaming light into professionalism into the industry, but when I came home I felt horrible.