help the clueless!

hello there everyone!

im a product designer who works a lot with 3D and graphic softwares. i know how to use a computer but i don’t have a clue about how to buy one. my computer (which was bought by my ex boyfriend who was a computer expert but is, as i said, EX now…) is getting a bit old for my needs and i need to get a new one.

so please help!

the best thing for a clueless person like me would be to have a list of parameters. money is not a problem but i really want a good quality cause god knows how long it would take me this time to save for a new one.

thanks in advance!

tamara :open_mouth:

what software? what use? what potential use? what personal preferences? need input before output.

hello YKH!
i use mostly photoshop, freehand, solid works, rhino, 3D max. i need good graphic qualities since i issue an independent magazine, but more important - a computer that can handle the needs of a small design studio (3D softwares for products development as well as massive use of the internet!).
hope it’s enough to help you help me…
thanks

sorry. no one’s paying me i’m told.

I don’t know much about PC’s. I hear the Dells are really good and fast. As a REALLY simple suggestion, if you look at their preconfigurations, if you spend $2500 you should be set for pretty much everything. Almost all computers nowadays are good for internet, don’t need to worry about that. Dual processors are good for photoshop and 3-d rendering for some programs. The higher the megahertz number, the faster it is, you’ll want that for renderings and photoshop.
I know there were some threads on here that gave really specific specs on good PC’s, I haven’t tried the search function here but you can find it that way, look at the old threads.
Maybe my lame explanation will encourage ykh to step up to help you.

I’ll throw my hat in the ring. There is no need to spend $2500. The essentials are:

1. as much RAM as you can afford (at least 512 mb in my opinion).