Onshape/Fusion360/Solidworks

Hello All,

Im curious to hear other peoples thoughts about Onshape or Fusion360 and comparisons to Solidworks. Im a biased as I have been using Solidworks for many years but would like to expand my CAD abilities. Any thoughts on these new programs? I have played around with both Onshape and Fusion360 can can see many parallels to Solidworks.

thanks

As a Solidworks User for over 17years, you ask a good question. Also instructed SW for about 8 years as an Adjunct Faculty member.

Full Disclosure, I work on the Fusion360 Education Management team now. I think you answered your question, you have to give them a try and see where the ups and downs are. I think Fusion has a 90 free trial for SW users now.

OK perhaps a better question inventor vs fusion 360? I took and inventor class and was impressed by it. At this point I dont have a ton of time to spend learning multiple autodesk programs.

Inventor is more Direct SW competition (both are good products). Fusion asks a different question about where CAD will go and how broad the acceptance can be for the general public. It is targeted at Design and Engineering, but strives for a larger adoption.

Thanks, do you think they will continue to stay separate products?? My dream software is a combination of organic modeling like rhino and the logic’s of solidworks

thanks!

Onshape is in its infancy but has great potential. Still limited in what you can make surface-wise.