SW/ts-Elements vs Rhino/T-Splines for car/air modelling

Hi, first of all sorry for my english :slight_smile:
I’m new in 3D modelling and want to learn automotive modelling, but maybe in future I’ll print that models in 3D printer. so which soft is better suited for car/planes modelling, surfacing and rendering? I have very small experience working in SW, but many designers says, that rhino is better for the such tasks as surface and car modelling and G2 surfacing. what is yours opinion and thanks for sharing with yours opinion.

True automotive surfacing is done in Alias. With that said if you just want to play around, Rhino or Solidworks can both be used to build cars. Rhino is more powerful of a surfacing tool (since much of it is derived from Alias) but it doesn’t have the same level of advanced surface analysis and evaluation that is required when building G2 & G3 surfaces for Class A automotive modelling.

tnx for response. yes, for now I just want to play and learning the principles of car modeling and surfacing. and I know, that Alias is great tool for G2/G3 surfacing, but I think it is very complcated for newbies and for me now. then as you advise I will start with Rhino and will continue with Alias in future. tnx again for ur response and opinion

If you are interested in automotive modeling there is an awesome free Camaro modeling tutorial you can find here

I believe the full things is about 16 hours, there’s no audio so it’s probably only something you’d want to do once you’ve spent some time with Rhino and are comfortable with the tools but I think the quality of surfacing he’s able to do shows off Rhino surfacing abilities.
CamaroModeling.jpg

In Rhino, don’t use T-Splines. Build the surfaces.

I’m more for building large main surfaces and then trimming/cutting/blending them together, rather than the patch modeling approach.