Need HELP!! LCD Display Design [think CASIO calculator]

Hello Corolites, please lend me your assistance. I have been tasked with creating a new console layout as part of a refresh of our cardio product. I have ZERO experience with laying out the old school LCD displays like what you would find on smaller products that don’t warrant a full on touch screen.

Our research has shown that the console is a serious pain point for people (qual & quant study) and I’m not thrilled with simply replicating a better looking version. I want something that is dramatically more meaningful to the user. If you have any ideas or thoughts then I could sure use your help. I’m looking for resources or examples of work that could possibly show the decision makers that it would be worth taking less profit out of the machine for a better user experience.

Regardless of if you can help thanks for reading and have an AWESOME day!

Not sure what you’re asking for, it sounds like you want to convince people UI is important and that answer is going to come from your design activity - if you can’t convince people that the UX is important based on the research you’ve said you’ve done and design concepts you can share with users then it may not be valuable enough.

So ask yourself what is the actual pain point, what information needs to be presented, and then let the technology fall into place. Throwing a touch screen on something just because it’s the thing to do doesn’t necessarily improve a product.

Sorry if that sentence structure was a bit odd but just to clarify we are not thinking of using a touch screen… Not applicable for this type of project.

In our use case there are the basic metrics that have to be shown BUT what I am trying to look for is experimental low res graphical displays or possibly lighting that could be interesting to enhance the UI and confirm the user. Again, I’m looking for INSPIRATION or EXAMPLES of work possibly something like this: