Using intuos tablet in conjustion with a 3D mouse for CAD

Hey i have been working with a intuos 5 for the last 6 months or so but something i find incredibly frustrating is its ineffectiveness when I need to use CAD software. I generally then plug in a old beaten up mouse i have laying around but its far from idea.

I was wondering whether anyone has had experience using a 3D mouse such as the 3D connexion spacenavigator in conjunction with a drawing tablet in software such as solidworks or rhino?

Razer high dpi mouse on the right, keyboard in the middle, SpaceNavigator on the left. Ideal combination for Rhino.

I don’t understand the problem…

Are you trying to use a tablet and a 3D mouse in the same program?

Yes i was wondering whether it would be practical to use the tablet for clicking and such and then use the space navigator for navigating the model.

Add me to the “not sure what the issue would be” list, but I recently joined the SpaceNavigator camp and I can’t believe I didn’t get one a long time ago. The Intuos is just another mouse as far as the computer is concerned. If you’ve got the scratch and space on the desk I say give it a go.

That’s a super goofy working style but it could work. Be warned that each of those devices can have driver quirks, so using both at once might compound that issue.

Personally I’d suggest just getting a $20 Logitech mouse or something. Use it on your tablet’s surface.

I have successfully transitioned from a mouse into using a Intuos 5 tablet. It took a bit of getting used to (about a 1 week or so) but it was well worth it. I was suffering from tendonitis so I knew I had to move away from the mouse. I do use a standing workstation as well so that also helps. My keyboard is above my tablet. I’m right handed so I hot key with my left hand.

Cons: