Alternatives to SolidWorks for ID

Hello, I’m an Industrial Designer working in consumer products and have been using SolidWorks since 2004 for 3D modeling & tech drawing for manufacturing, product rendering, 3D printing for prototyping. etc. My current employer only recently added an in house product dev team and has been pushing for more affordable alternatives to SolidWorks. I have some background in surfacing tools Alias(also too expensive) and Rhino, but not sure if they replace SolidWorks. I have not used AutoDesk products beyond playing with 123Design. There are so many more options for 3D software today, does anyone have suggestions for more affordable software that can be used for manufacturing?

Resarch conducted in early 2012 to find a more affordable alternative to Solidworks:

Shark FX v8.Price $1752. Upgrade $475. Note:Shark and Ashlar Cobalt are very similar because both product were developed by the same person.

Ashlar Vellum Cobalt. Price $2995 (permanent license). Upgrade $1295 (free w perm lic?). Note: Development has been slow no new version for more than 2 years.

FromZ Version 7. Price $1499. Upgrade $399. Note: Version 7 is rebuilt from the ground up making it much easier to use. Think Sketchup like but able to create organic shape NURBS models. No info as to how adequate the drafting module is for production drawing and if there is associativity between model and drawing

ZW3D. Price $2495. Upgrade $595. Note: Formerly VX of USA which was sold to ZW a Chinese CAD company. VX had a good reputation for surfacing. Rendering is weak might need to buy separate rendering program.