MAC Alias Automotive Render & Direct Render Fails?

So, I’m a noob to Alias, we are required for the first assignment to render within Alias. However, the Renderer fails all the time-since the installation. Direct Render will either fail or only show the wire frame- it won’t even render to the gray scale. I downloaded the hotfix for MAC, but still having issues. Not sure what else to explain to get some help?
thanks…

Although I am Alias_windows user… some suggestions
is the basic model developed in Alias?
open another alias window with valid model & rendered file, delete the content, copy & paste your data into this second Alias window, try rendering it…

If you have shaders applied, then do a test. Delete all the shaders and create 1 new one and apply it to the model. Then do a render. If it works this means you have a corrupt shader.

The next step is too delete the shaders 1 by 1 and test render after you delete a shader, until you find the bad one. It is an annoying bug that has been around for a long time and is much like the old Christmas light problem…

or you can email me the file and I can take a quick look at it if it was don in Alias 2010.

chevis.watkinson@designconsortiumllc.com

Thank you for the responses.
@ADD: Yes, entire model was created in Alias Automotive 2011. I tried opening a new file, not deleting previous and turning on that layer - I’m figuring it still copies any corupt/bad items in the file this way. Also tried copy/pasting to new file. Still doesn’t want to render.

@CHEVISW: I’ll give that a try - I have Alias 2011 -free Automotive education version. Will post later to see if that works.

thank you both,
EM

Try to create a test scene. Just make a new scene, create a sphere or other primative, leave the default shaders and light and try running a render.

If it fails, it’s possible that you have a corrupt installation - you may need to reinstall.