SolidWorks Setup

Postby umlautthoni » February 19th, 2013, 8:42 pm


umlautthoni
step two
step two
 
Posts: 58
Joined: April 28th, 2010, 9:32 pm
Location: RSM, CA
I'm due for a new laptop at work. Unfortunately, it will be another Windows based machine. I'm a Mac user; always have been, always will be. I need to supply my IT dept with the specs for a machine. I need it to drive a 27-in monitor as well as a 21-in Cintiq. My last laptop would only allow for both to external monitor and Cintiq to run simulataneously. Does this make sense?

If anyone can reccommend a best practice, I would be hugely indebted to you as I have never been a technical wiz at this sor of thing.

I use Solidworks, Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator and Keyshot applications for design work.

Re: SolidWorks Setup

Postby mappdaniel » February 20th, 2013, 2:56 am


mappdaniel
step three
step three
 
Posts: 159
Joined: April 4th, 2008, 2:58 pm
Location: UK
As far as driving Solidworks goes if the moneys not a problem the simplest thing to do is just go for a dell precision laptop. Probably skip the base model and go for the mid range.

I have had 2 of these laptop in the past myself(one lower spec model purchased by myself during uni and another purchased by my employer for me)

The one from the employer used to run 2 24" monitors with Solidworks and Altium running with no problems at all.

If Dell are not an option find yourself the American version of a site like this:

http://www.pcspecialist.co.uk/

and build one up to your own spec.

Hope this helps.


Return to software and technology

©2013 Core77, Inc. All rights reserved
about | contact us | advertise | mailing list