Seeking Mentorship via Skype

I’m leaning on the Core77 community to help me out if possible. I’m encountering a few different situations in my young design career right now. I have a growing part-time freelance business and I’m also trying to make a big impact as a new employee for a company that doesn’t utilize design very well. If there are any experienced industrial designers willing to offer advice via Skype a couple of times a month they’d receive my eternal gratitude. I’m happy to exchange some freelance hours or help how I can.

More about me: I graduated in 2008 with a BFA in ID and since then I have had a couple design/engineering related jobs and success as a freelancer which has evolved into a 2-person part-time business. Since beginning my final internship in 2007 I have really wanted to work under an experienced industrial designer. Someone to critique my work and process. If you are a manager, entrepreneur, or have a business background that would be a huge bonus. I just want to continue learning. I have aspirations of becoming a design director, innovation leader, or an entrepreneur who develops products.

Any takers for this sweet deal? Please send me a message!

Thanks Core!

I would be happy to participate in a “Skype” mentoring program with you, i have 13 years experience in both corporate design and consultancy. you can reach me at chevis.watkinson@designconsortiumllc.com

I also see that you are in WI. if you are close to Milwaukee we can even have face to face meetings.

Also if you are a member of IDSA i believe they also have a mentoring program.

Chevis W.

Chevis,

Glad to hear from you. We’ve worked together before, but I’m no longer in Milwaukee. I wasn’t aware of IDSA’s program so that should be helpful. Thanks again!

I thought you might be the same Ryan but wasn’t sure.

Hi Ryan,