charge by hours?

I’ve recently met an very nice guy, an artist (painter) and there’s a painting (good) he did that only take him 30 minutes to make and it cost $2000 and he also have a painting (mediocre) that take 30 hours to make and it tagged at $1000, he said that yes its more time consuming but its not a good painting.
this makes me think that most design related freelancer is charging base on time taken as opposed on the idea-generated will worth. I know we havent produce our idea when we quote our client so we don’t know how much it will worth, and sometimes its not about idea(like rendering and stuff)
Im still a newbie here and havent exposed much on the design industry ‘rate’ system but from what i see that most charge base on the time taken and this makes me think on how should we charge ( I know we are not artist), but hey its just a thought on my head :wink:
what do you think? would really like to hear your thought :smiley:

Yes we know the hourly model may sell us short if we create something more valuable than the fee. Many designers talk about using equity or royalties but they have their own pitfalls and difficulties too with a lot of contingencies and legal issues.

One idea I like is to take a partial fee with equity/royalty approach but it is easier said than done. Hourly is not ideal but it is simple to implement contractually which is one reason why it is used in most cases.

take a look at this discussion thread, I think there is some good info in hear on that subject I don’t know how to paste the link in here but you can search the topic title called
“HOW MUCH TO CHARGE?”

wait, here is the link