Taking over the family business...

So, I’m faced with a challenge in the coming years (5+)…What to do with my successful Dad’s glass art studio??? I’m currently a mid-level Industrial Designer with zero know how on how to run a business and perhaps a little too baby faced to be barking orders at people lol.

My question is, has anyone been in a similar position to turn and/or save the family business. More so, somehow modify the business and process into something geared towards ID. All the materials, fabricating, and even art gallery networks are in place but I have no idea what to do with it…(housewares maybe???) but how could I attract big name clients (Crate and Barrel, Pottery Barn, Target)??? OR even build a Brand off the traditions of my father’s successes…(hire branding firm, business team, outside ID firm to build potential product line???)

Any advice or similar experience would be helpful…thought I’d finally seek outside advice and post this question rather than fantasizing and mulling it over in my head for the billionth time.

Best,

Phil

I have no idea what to do with it…

First off, I would advise you to not mess it up. I’m seeing in excess of ten pages of google refs for Stankard items and places to buy them; you have one hell of a platform to build upon.

Your ID portfolio is strong. You have identified the “problem” yourself; it is time to be increasing your business and marketing acumen. I believe a lot of the other questions you have about growing the firm will answer themselves when you do.

This is a very personal question; Do you and your father, not talk that much? What are his views on the future of the business?

Lmo, thanks for the reply and thanks for the portfolio compliment.