royalties on really large quantities

hi all -

i’m new to the discussion board here, although i’ve been imbibing on core77’s news section everyday for a few years now. so as to fill in a little bit more, i’m actually an architect by training and by practice, so parts of the design world are familiar, parts are not.

reason i’m posting is to see if there is anyone who might have some insight into a situation we’re currently in: four years ago, while working on a project, we stumbled onto (or into) a packaging idea which seemed really strong, as well as completely unconnected with the work at hand. so, we put it aside but over time would come back and work on the ideas, eventually getting a reasonably broad method developed that would improve the sustainablity features for whole classes of product types. we did more research than should be allowed, realized no one had patents on work even close to this, and, thus, we consulted with attorneys, filed utility and design patents over all the key components and features, etc.

in the meantime, we started trying to figure out how to capitalize on this and who to begin approaching all this with. we’ve started out with the biggest we could find and, lo and behold, they were indeed interested. very interested.

my question is this then - we’re just about at the point where we’re going to the final contract (beyond nda’s, development agreements, etc.) and, for all the research we’ve been able to do, we (our team) are having a hard time determining a metric for royalty payments. mostly, this is due to the sheer quantities involved - this company along produces almost 1B of a single packaging type, globally, each year. and we may do 2-5 lines of their packaging over time.