billing rates for research & design

i have been approached by an overseas investor who would like to get into the US furniture market to establish a company and design the collection. (i’ve never done this before.) i am planning on two work contracts - one for everything related to actually making the company happen (competition/market research, advertising, etc.) and one for the actual design work.

for the design work contract, i’m planning on asking for an upfront fee, per design, with a stipulation that rights be returned to me if the designs are not taken to market after a certain number of years.

can anyone help me out with ballpark figures? i’ve tallied all my expenses, figured out my break-even rate, profit margin calculations, etc., so i know what works for me, but i feel like i’m throwing a blind number out there when it comes to industry figures. also, is it fair to charge the same rate for both contracts?

thanks in advance.

i’m sure you’ll get some responses such as “how long is a piece of string?” but let me share an example just from the research billing portion - mostly a consumer research perspective:

a well known, major U.S. city based, qualitative/design focused/consumer research consultancy might charge blue chip clients about US$100,000 for the following:
–basic secondary research, call it ‘market orientation’ (and the presentation/documentation of this info)
–series of focus groups with consumers, perhaps 4-6 groups spread over a couple days in the same location (and the presentation/ " " ) (please, no need for condescending comments about focus groups, that’s another thread!)
–series of observational research/faux ethnography with about 8-12 users ( " " " )
–mid-point check-up/meeting/sharing/presentation/manage expectations