Toy or Infant?

Now that we have a topic area we should make use of it :slight_smile:

I was wondering how many people who come to this thread are toy designers versus infant products designers? Is there any reason to discuss them seperately?

I ask because I have been and still do a little infant product design. I always felt kind of seperated from the toy designers. To me, personally, the market and corporate mentality are complete different between the two. To generalize I have always seen the market perception to be “Toys are the big sales at Christmas and infant products bring in the money during the rest of the year”.

Quick background of where I worked:

1. Right out of school I worked for the US branch of Tommee Tippee, UK.
  2. I worked for Gerber designing International and some domestic (US) product.
  3. I was the Product Development Manager for Evenflo’s feeding line.
  4. I worked as a consultant with Evenflo, Gerber, ABC Development, Danara, and several Asian manufacturers (China and Thailand).
  5. I have a patenet for a pacifier and nipple that work like the human breast that I am selling the right to manufacture to a European company.

I have never worked or been asked to work in the Toy industry.

Seems to me you’re right.

I work in the ‘nursery’ product industry and I see absolutely NO crossover with the toy market.

However, if you know whereabouts Norfolk is in England, you probably wouldn’t be surprised!

I see from your post in the colour thread that you were fed up with primaries and pastels - I’m lucky in that respect, as I have got other people to do the ‘colouring in’, but it seems on the whole to be a very restrictive market to work in - wether just by the nature of its possibilities, or the conservativeness of the customers, I don’t know…