Pet Toy Designers?

is there anyone on this forum that designs pet toys? i would love to learn about the materials that are used for pet toys such as dogs and cats, any suggestions?

thanks

I’ve done a bunch of dog toy designs for Aspen Pet (Booda brand). These were kind of interesting because they use 2 different materials, a hard plastic and an elastomer. Not sure exactly what types of material they are, though:

Also, this guy is one of a line that I worked on - all roto-molded latex:

I know a little about the pet industry.
Any particular questions?
There are tons of material options for toys just walk in to a pet store and you’ll see, traditional plastics, elastomers, wood, papers and textiles, even metal parts.

sorry i havent been able to reply to my post.

my Q is ( this might sound stupid) but how can i advance my skills and learn about pet toys ? my background is in Industrial and Graphic design. and i am new to this industry. any feed back would be great. also, what are the main brands on the market.

any feed back and info would be great.

thank n adv

also if any one knows of industry magazines that i can subscribe to…

The pet industry is peculiar.

There are huge players like the Mars corporation, Colgate-Palmolive, Rayovac
they dominate the commodities end of the business.

Then you have the second tier companies that exist in both pet specialty stores as well as independent pet stores. Many of these companies also maintain secondary brands for sales to walmart, grocery, and smaller mass stores like Walgreen, rite-aid, Kroger, etc. These companies typically carve out a particular Niche in what is already seen as a niche industry.

And below that are the smaller companies and boutique manufacturers that are typically only sold in independent pet stores. These are usually the high design/high quality/ low volume Companies that couldn’t survive the pricing structure of the distribution chains of the rest of the industry.