Questions for Freelancers

I am a recent grad with some internship and minimal free lance experience. I have had no luck finding full-time work (though many places show interest,most do not have the funds to hire) so I thought that I might try to pick up some more free lance work to keep me designing. I live in an area that has enough consulting firms and larger corporations that hire designers, so I have plenty of places to contact, but I don’t know quite how to start.

What do I send? A resume? work samples? a brochure? I would like to keep it simple and the cost low, but I’m not sure what they expect from a freelance designer.

what do you send and how do you present yourself?

Also…if you don’t mind my asking, who sets the rate and when do you talk money?

thanks in advance!

Sometimes Core77 can be a deeper wealth of information than it appears. Just do a search on Core (not the forum, but the rest of the site). There are some valuable articles on freelancing with a wealth of information apropos to your questions.

Do exactly what 914 said. Here are some of my own suggestions though, everyone’s experience/prefs are different:

-Teaser / flyer: Nice stuff, takes no effort to glance and get an initial impression that you may be good enough to contact. It’s very low cost, so you can send out tons of them (I’m not suggesting to do that though, I’ll tell you why later). Make it just good enough to peak interest, gotta have more impressive stuff to show at the interview. I put an abbreviated resume/client list on mine so the viewer can get a quick summary of who I am, want more details…call me in!