Career Change - Please Advice - Thank you!

Did you get a job by getting a degree in design?

• I got a degree then a job.
  • I’m self taught.

0 voters

Hi,

I have a quick question. I’ve done web design for the past 5 years, but after working on the project for watch design I got really interested in product design and would love to get into the field.

The problem I have is that I know Photoshop and Illustrator and I love to sketch and draw, but I don’t know if that would be sufficient to get the job in the product industry. I’m teaching myself Rhino, because someone mentioned it can be used for Watch design. I would love to design anything from watches to jewelry to bags and accessories. Unfortunately I went to school for something else and I can’t work internship job since living in NYC is expensive and I need a full time paying job to pay rent.

Can someone recommend me software that can be self taught or any other ideas to get into product design field. Do I need to do my portfolio (simple drawings or Photohsop/Illustrator digital format)? basically anything that might guide me?

Also If you work or got a job in this type of design without taking design classes I would love to hear more about it. I’m very creative and would love to pursue something where I can express my creativity.

Thank you very much in advance for all your help and advice.

Jim Stark
www.hiamp.com

Take a look at the qualification requirements listed by companies hiring entry-level Product Designers–this will definitively answer your question. Also, why not talk to that watchmaker and see what they’d require of that position?

I can see how watch design would be tempting for a GD’er–it’s very 2D as far as products go. Unfortunately, unless your client is SWATCH, they’re probably going to require the standard ID skillset. Check out http://www.idsa.org for definitive info on what those skills include.

Hope that helps.