Internship Requirements?

I’m in a weird situation. I graduated in ID almost a year ago but haven’t even bothered to look for employment. I have a job that I really like. It also pays the bills with some money left over at the end of every month, and I only have to work four days a week. Over the past couple of months, however, I’ve realized that it’s becoming less and less challenging for me, and it’s time to get a ‘proper’ ID job. I know I’m good at what I do, but much of my portfolio doesn’t reflect that, so it’s getting re-worked until I’m a little happier with it.

To get to the question - I think half the reason I’ve not bothered looking for a job is that I never did an internship and my real-life design experience is lacking. I wouldn’t even feel comfortable being hired as a paid designer because I’m not even sure what it’s like to work in the field. Instead of jumping head-first into trying to get someone to pay me money, I’ve decided that an internship might be a better idea. I can gain experience with a little less responsibility than a paid designer, while at the same time keeping my current job until I’m ready to make the permanent change. (I’d be taking about a $10,000 pay cut as an entry-level designer anyway).

Aside from the obvious fact that it seems late for someone who’s already graduated to apply for an internship, does this seem weird to you? I’ve talked to some employers who feel that if you can’t make at least a 3-day per week commitment to an internship, most won’t even consider you. Is this true? I can commit that time if I need to… Also, is there anything different for an internship interview than a job interview?

Sorry if I’m so long-winded. I’m a stickler for details and it’s 6am - it’s been a long day!