Remote work payment issue

Hi everyone,
I am an Industrial Designer who currently resides in Detroit.

Over the last month I worked remotely for a company in California. It was a part time 10 hours a week Industrial Design job starting from Oct to Nov. I still a have an original copy of the contract that I signed on which stipulates the term and payment amount I will be receiving. This job was offered by the CEO(owner) of the company and during the work I directly communicated with him(Phone, email, Skype. Basecamp).

The work was ok but after I submitted last work and asked for a payment I haven’t heard any replies. (It’s been more than a week and I sent two emails and txt msg)
I am very concerned that this employer may not pay me. I was hoping to hear some advices to solve this matter. Where can I go to file this matter? Does it require a lawsuit?( I am not planning on getting a lawyer) How would you approach this problem?

Did you ask for/receive a deposit of any kind?

The old non-paying clients. Hopefully you don’t have a huge amount outstanding (40-80 hours)?

Deposits are not typical in design work (At least not in the US) unless there are clear upfront material costs (prototypes, competitive product analysis, etc). The best way to handle this type of stuff is with milestone payments, but it sounds like this was a small enough project that it was one and done.

The questions I would ask:

-Have you handed off your final deliverables? Typically any final deliverable is something you hold tightly until payment is submitted and agreed upon. If you have anything they still need (raw files, CAD data, etc) then it’s leverage. If you gave them everything, you have no leverage left.