4 interviews, same feedback

So, I’ve had 4 interviews for junior designer positions, 2 phone and 2 in-person. So far, I’ve come up empty.

I’ve gotten the same feedback everytime, which is a lack of experience. They all knew I was a recent grad with internship experience in the field beforehand. I have gotten similar feedback on my work for everyone as well. They think the work is good, my skills are sufficient for what they are looking for.

Every time the interview has gone well, being friendly with one another and starting to build relationships. Each time I’ve left the situation feeling good and confident. But, after dileberation, the same feedback has come up.

I’m wondering from those of you in the forum with experience if there is something I should be reading in between the lines from these experiences?

As far as I can tell, freelance seems to be the best way I can gain experience, but it’s not something I was taught much about in school, and don’t know where to start.

It’s frustrating for me being fresh out of school, and looking for my first full time position to be told I don’t have enough experience.

I understand that these companies need someone who can start contributing as soon as possible, and I think I could do that with a short learning period, but how can I convince an employer to take a chance on me?

Portfolio link? Work speaks for itself and it’s difficult to know if the feedback is about something other than your resume without seeing the work.

R

Portfolio definitely matters and posting it might help us give better advice.
Especially if it’s a barnburner f a 'folio, then there might be something else at play here that can be traced back to your interview style.

But I assume that you had shared your portfolio perviously with those employers, right?
So in that case I’d assume they have already a good understanding of your strengths and abilities.