Recent Grad In Need of Advice

Hi Everyone,

I’m sorry that this post is long– thank you in advance for taking the time to read it!

I graduated with an Industrial Design degree this past May and I’m feeling really stuck. I worked my ass off in school– I have a pretty solid portfolio (as far as I can tell), and have a ton of internship / work experience. I want to work in industrial design, but I can’t find a job for the life of me.

I’ve applied to what feels like a million jobs all over the country– most of these ‘applications’ have been cold call emails, because there really aren’t many postings for junior designers out there right now. I’m not picky about where I want to work– I just want to be an industrial designer. I’ve mostly not gotten any responses, and the responses that I have gotten are almost always people saying “sorry, your work is nice, but we just don’t have the budget to hire right now.” I’m careful about writing emails and cover letters that are thoughtful and genuine– I put a lot of time into the job search and job application process.

I’m currently freelancing for someone who can’t pay me much money and who is having me do more marketing / graphic design work. I’m starting to get worried that industrial design is dying off as a field, and that I’ll never be able to find a job in it. I want to be an industrial designer more than anything, but it’s starting to feel like pursuing ID is a waste of my time– what if I spend years of my life interning and desperately applying to jobs, only to end up having to switch to another field anyways?