Working remotely

I am a product designer who’s always worked as a a employee on site for companies. I do pretty much the whole NPD process - bringing product ideas from concept into production. Making 3D models, assemblies, drawings, making and testing prototypes, refining the design, working with the tool makers, manufacturers, marketing and sales, etc etc. A typical project can easily take a year or more. I usually work at the same company for 3 to 7 years.

Problem is I get so bored driving to the same building, seeing the same people, and working on the same products day in and day out. I kind of lose the plot after a while. I don’t like being tied to the same location (building or city) for so long.

I thrive on variety. Meeting new people, going new places, seeing new things. So I think I would rather work on smaller portions of the projects, but across multiple projects. And would rather work remotely, being able to work from anywhere.

Do any of you feel the same way?

Is it possible to live in one city, or even out in the country somewhere, and work for multiple companies in other cities? Or even better yet - while travelling?

Well there is always a balance. I sometimes have so many projects for different clients that in my head names get confused and I become too scatterbrained, so it’s also good to have a few projects to dedicate more long-term attention to. It’s a matter of getting a feeling for managing that for yourself, exploring what fits you and not hesitating to putting it to action. I have also learned the value of the proverbial sticking to your last.