Lost and in need of help

Hi all,

First of all I want to apologize for the lengthy post and thank you for taking the time out your busy lives to read it.
I’ve been meaning to post in here for a while to get some career advice, but I really thought I could do it on my own.
That feeling is gone and now I feel lost, defeated and in serious need of help/advice.

I graduated in the summer of 2010 as an Industrial Designer at a time when the economy was rough and you
were extremely lucky if you found a job. I was one of those lucky ones that found one. I started working as a design
engineer at at closet company in Westchester County just outside New York City. Although the job was not what
I wanted, It was a job (had to start paying school loans) and it was related to design. I believe there is always something
to learn from any experience one has in life, so I thought to stay there a year or so while I strengthened my technical
skills and improved my portfolio.

After I was happy with my portfolio I started applying everywhere. I applied to design studios, design consultancies and
large companies with little or no luck. Some liked my portfolio but said they couldn’t hire me because I had no “design experience”,
others simply never called. I tried the internship route, but none of the opportunities that I was offered could pay me anything
and wanted me to work full time, leaving very little time to have a part time job to pay the bills. I’m fully aware this is the norm,
but I just couldn’t afford it. Little by little I looked for jobs less and less. I became comfortable with the money at my job but hated it
every day more and more. Fast forward to today, I’m still at the same job feeling helpless and hopeless.

I’ve started questioning my abilities (not good) and wondering whether I should keep pursuing this or change fields all together,
but I don’t want to give up until I can say “hey, I tried it and it wasn’t for me”. I’m just as passionate about design as I was when