portfolio production

hello coroflotians!

I have been sharpening my skills for the past three years…and I am finally ready!!

but I have never been taught how to make a kick ass portfolio… and coroflot came whizzing to my brain.

tips would be very helpful NOW!!!

crticism is always welcome folks! :sunglasses:

some basic guidlines

1: don’t assume the person reading your portfolio will be a designer. Give enough information (think advertising) so that even the business person can understand what you did.

2: show projects from finish to start to finish. What is it? How did I get there? What is it again? A variety of sketches. Scan in and touch up if you use inconsistant paper/media/etc.

3: don’t give away too much. You want enough drawings/info/process to make the employer NEED to have you come in for an interview, but you don’t want to have nothing more to show when you interview.

4: this means you may want a self-explanatory SAMPLE portfolio which can be passed out like promotional material and an INTERVIEW portfolio which is bulkier and shows much more but is only intended to be seen with you right there.

5: stick to your best projects, at least 3 no more than 6.

6: engineer a flexible portflio. be selective to focus on the employer → include relevant work → if you are applying for POP and you’ve done it before, include it. If you are applying for trans include more car designs. If you don’t want to model, give sketches precedence.

7: when in doubt, leave it out!

any more suggestions?

Benny thank you for your post, it was quite thorough and informative.
the time and thought you took to write it is appreciated.

(yeesh the manners of some people :unamused: )
(criticism point #1)

Are you looking for a job in ID, Graphic Design or something related?

I have a question too.