Gap Year

Hi fellow ID people!

I graduated in May 2015 with a BA in Product Design. During my time at university I undertook a 5 month work placement with a design consultancy. Upon leaving university I undertook a few months of freelance work and currently coming to the end of a 6 month internship at a design consultancy.

I have also been tipped off that I will be approached about a potential job opportunity to become a lecturer/teacher on a Product Design course at a college.

I am of course very flattered (should the approach come) and honoured that I have been identified for the job, but I am wondering if it is too soon to step away from the design industry? Also how would my chances of finding employment in the design industry be if I did a full academic year of teaching and then decided to go back into ID? I don’t want to cut ties with the ID industry completely as this is what I trained for at university. I am kind of seeing the opportunity as a gap year - but with an emphasis on teaching as opposed to going abroad! Will future employers see this as a year well spent?

Hope you guys can help me!

Thanks

From what you’ve described you aren’t taking a “Gap”, you are taking a full time job (which you currently do not have).

I would not be concerned about it being looked down upon, but if you plan on transitioning back to professional work you should ask yourself if you should be going into education for just a year (when you’ve been in school recently) or if you should just move to professional work.

Either way - a gap year is when you decided you were just going to hang out in Thailand for 12 months because you had a trust fund after college. I would not view taking any job in any fashion in a negative light as long as you remain a skilled and capable hire after the fact.

It’s another story if you teach for 10 years and then want to get a professional job without knowing any of the latest tools, software, manufacturing techniques, etc.

Cheers Cyberdemon!