where to from from here

So, I have been a design manager for about 4 years now, and I am getting tired of a few things.
I was thinking that I want to continue in management, but in a more technical, less design and subjective field…

I have a management diploma, and a bachelor in industrial design. What are my options?
Where can I go from here?

Thanks

Gerry

I’ve worked with designers who have transitioned more into project management and development management, china factory relations, all kinds of things. Maybe there is an opportunity at your current company to try something new? The benefit being you know the culture, the product category, and the processes, but maybe you can bring a new approach to a different area.

Product line or product category management. Requires ability to create a good business plan, which means a deep knowledge of customers and predicting trends. A familiarity with design processes helps by being able to work with the actual design staff (giving them space to do their best work) and knowing the spectrum of product development.

It depends on what “few things” you are getting tired of.

4 years should have yielded some valuable experiences by now like: seeing product shipped, working with other departments, budgeting, hiring staff, expanding your departments capability and hiring outside resources. There are also the other more unpleasant sides of design management: firing staff, legal issues, knowing the task and schedule at hand and not having the resources to do the job the way you visualize or to your standards of design quality and so on.