Advice for Student

Hello,
I recently got accepted into the industrial design program at Auburn University. At the moment I am in some lower level courses mostly covering the basic principles of design. I am really enjoying classes and am excited become even more submersed into the program.

I want to get a good job in the field and I understand that what I do as a student will effect my future job prospects. I anticipate graduating in the winter of 2017/ fall of 2018 so I have about 2 -2 1/2 years to work on my skills, portfolio, ect. My question really is what are some things that I should do/focus on now that will help me land a job when I graduate? Is there anything that you know now that you wish you would have known as a student? If any of you are employers, what do you look for in a potential employee?

Additional information: I have read through this forum and found that many people talk about having a focus, as an early student I do not have one but would love to find one down the road. I am primarily interested in going into industry but am not opposed to the idea of teaching down the road (I understand that this would require some additional schooling).

Thanks for reading and I look forward to some feedback!

First off congrats on getting accepted.

I wouldn’t worry to much about the focus thing at this stage.
An open mind and being ready to experiment should be more important while you start your journey.
This ensures you are getting an all round foundation to design.

Nothing wrong with being aware of this though so that when you stumble upon a project or subject matter that interests you especially, you recognize it and can have this influence the rest of your educational path.