Tell me how to improve my chances of getting a job?

I am an Industrial Designer looking for a job. I have been looking for the past year and it feels like I am doing something wrong. I would have thought that I would have a job by now and I am ready to completely change everything to get one. Obviously something is not working unless I get told otherwise.

Here is my online portfolio and resume so you all can see some of my work and tear me apart.

I have been getting some interviews for places but usually what ends up happening is they take someone with more experience, or so I get told from the recruiters. I was hoping the community here could help me take my resume and portfolio to the next level by offering up some tips.

I have a feeling that I already know what needs to be done, I just lack the motivation lately with my many side projects and ideas. (I am a entrepreneur and wantrepreneur) Hopefully this post and your responses can get me excited about transforming my work and portfolio into something amazing.

[ Deleted ]

What do you think that would be, exactly?

Honestly, your site, resume, and portfolio all look spot on. From a quick glance if I could change anything, it would only be that your resume display in the browser rather than download to my computer. In terms of resume, I would remove “activities,” and save those as conversation starters when you interview.

Speaking of interviews, how do those go for you usually? Do you find yourself connecting with a team/individual on a personal level? I always felt an interview went really well when the portfolio was pushed aside and we could have a coherent discussion, either about the industry or design in general. The fact that you’re getting your foot in the door is a good sign (though not surprising with your level of work.) It makes me think maybe the right “fit” hasn’t come along yet.