Relocating to the US as a senior ID manager...

Hello all!

Need your help in an issue I have:

I am an industrial designer, a design manger and strategist with more than 10 years of experience in many business fields (I have both in-house and consultancy experience in a studio environment).
My wife and I are thinking of moving to the US as part of my wife’s plan of undertake a fellowship program there (Part of her training as an MD).We may be able to choose from several locations around the state.
My question for you (Those who know…): What’s the chance of finding a design management position there, as I am not a part of the US design culture and connections?

And if it is relevant, where in the US should we focus our attention at finding a job for me (And my wife’s fellowship…)? The west coast- SF? Seattle? Portland? Perhaps Austin-Huston? NYC/NJ? Chicago…?

Would there be a chance to get a Visa sponsorship from employers, so I could start working, renting a house, buying a car etc. , BEFORE my family actually arrives, so they’ll get a “soft landing”? Has anybody here ever taken this step or had some of the issues I mentioned?

Any help would be welcomed!

Tnx!

It is definetly possible. Larger companies and consulting groups are not as afraid of dealing with visas. I advise looking to global companies and consulting groups. I worked at both frog and nike, both have design offices and Europe and have somewhat frequent exchange of people.

As for location, certain cities have more opportunities. SF probably is the highest concentration of firms. Seattle has opportunities due to Microsoft being there. Portland mainly serves Nike and Intel.

For your wife, a fellowship at the Mayo clinic in Rochester Minnesota would be good for her credentials. Mayo also posts positions for designers/design strategists from time to time as well, and those positions as far as I know focus on patient experience strategy and design.