Advice for Young Design Engineer

Hi everyone,

While most people on this board are industrial designers I’d like to get your input in my search for a job as a mechanical design engineer - I suppose most of you work with them and might even have a say in their hire in some cases.

The long and short of it, I graduated in mechanical engineering 2 years ago. I was a research assistant while in school. I even had the chance to publish a few articles. I took almost a year off after graduating to work on some personal projects (finish an album, work on an interactive art installation) and traveled a bit. Last summer, I worked in a small design consultancy doing some mechanical design work as well as developing some proof of concept electronics/embedded systems. Since then I’ve had some on and off part time work both with that consultancy and other clients. I’m also currently doing an online certificate in embedded systems engineering. And lastly, I have a passion for industrial design - taking on some personal projects from time to time.

I’m currently in Ottawa, Canada, a city of 1 million with sadly not a whole lot going on in terms of mechanical/industrial design. For the past 6-7 months, I’ve been trying to find a job - either as junior mechanical/design engineer or an internship for a similar position. I’ve been applying a lot in the San Francisco bay area as I’d like to work in CE. I’ve also applied a bit in Montreal and on every local opportunity. I’ve had a few interviews but only one teleconference interview with a company in SF. Could it be that I’m getting cut early as I’m not in the US and possibly not worth the hassle for an internship candidate? Though I’m covered by NAFTA…

Here is my current CV and portfolio I attach for companies that will accept it.

http://lbnc.ca/CV_l_leblanc_31_march_2015.pdf
http://lbnc.ca/portfolio-l-leblanc.pdf