Out of state job candidates

Hi all, I seem to have permanently lost my old Core77 account that I’d had since high school, so I’m starting again.

I graduated from a respected art school with an ID degree several years ago, I’ve had several internships, a few short-ish consultancy gigs, but I’ve mostly I’ve been doing freelance and looking for a good in-house position on and off in the remaining years. I’m eager to relocate, and my girlfriend is also looking for out of state jobs, basically we both live in a state where there isn’t a ton of ID, and there isn’t a ton of presence in her industry, either.

So settle a debate: my girlfriend has been told (by some professors, at least, not necessarily by employers) that having an out-of-state address on a resume is enough to immediately disqualify you from consideration from most jobs and will get your resume put straight into the trash. She thinks I’m shooting myself in the foot by using my current address and not adopting one from someone I know in the region(s) I’m sending out portfolios.

So I’d like to hear from people who actually have been on the other side of the hiring process, are you less willing to consider candidates who are out of state? It says pretty clearly on my portfolio site what state I live in, and I do emphasize that I’m actively looking to relocate in cover letters, but am I really hurting my chances by not hiding it?

Thanks,
|_neon_fields

For hires in which I have been involved it was an issue in regards to the average salary for location from which the candidate was coming. We looked at people from all over the country but we were more likely to interview someone Ohio versus an equivalent candidate from New York. This was at a firm with ten people so money was tight and it was always considered when looking at candidates.