New job opportunity / questions

So I first wanted to share a little bit about my background. I am an Industrial design graduate from last year (May 2013). At the time of graduation, I was into footwear design and had accepted an opportunity with a very large footwear company in Boston, MA. This opportunity was something they only offer to recent post grands and has a one year duration. Essential it is a one year interview. They hire a lot of graduates and there wasn’t a guarantee of getting a job.

While at this large footwear company I learned two major things.

One I really didn’t enjoy working at a large corporate office. Although there were lots of nice benefits and a nice company discount. The other thing I learned is that I really didn’t enjoy footwear design. Maybe it was just this company, or maybe they are all like this, but to often I would be asked to make shoes the way the marketing team wanted them, make colorways and materials that they wanted. I felt like I really was not able to be creative and create product that I loved and was original.

So by now you would have guessed that I didn’t get a job there, and even if I did, I don’t think I would have taken it.

I decided to move to Philadelphia because I am young and wanted to experience other cities. Philly is also a lot cheaper than NYC!

I recently interviewed with a local design firm and loved it.

Anyways. I seem to have gotten an offer from them but I am not really sure what to do and that is why I am seeking advice!

The offer was to have a 90 day unpaid internship and to possibly fulfill a full time position upon completion. He also noted I could get paid an hourly rate if They had some billable projects come in. He asked what my 1099 hourly rate would be as well as my salary (w2) rate.

My questions are if I take this, (OR SHOULD I NOT) what would be a good rate for hourly 1099, and what would be an ideal starting salary for the position.