Did I mess up?

I am a recent industrial design graduate and two weeks ago I was flown in for an interview. They company paid for all of the expenses. The company explained that they were located in a remote area and that almost all of the employees commute an hour or more to work everyday. Because of this, they STRONGLY encouraged me to check out the surrounding areas (they are located close to the border of a state, so the surrounding areas included two completely different states, both which I had never been to).

I only had one full day to explore all of these locations, about 5 cities, so my mom flew up (on her own dime) with me to help drive and offer criticism about all of these locations since I could potentially be living in one of them. We shared the rental car and hotel room, however, I realized that this might have seemed unprofessional to the company (they asked about the stay/drive/what I thought about the area). I did not intend to be unprofessional, just due to the short amount of time I was there it seemed easier to split the hotel and rental car. Should I not have done this?

The only way this would be unprofessional is if your mom came in to the building with you and waited in the lobby…

Other than that I don’t think they would mind that you bring a relative with you, especially at your young age, it’s a big move and moms see things we don’t. Now if you are 40 and had her come with you it may seem a little weird.

As long as you didn’t bad mouth the local towns then I wouldn’t see any alarm bells ringing, what was their reaction to you telling them your mom came with you to make you paranoid about the interview? By the sounds of it if they have to fly people in to interview then it may just take them a while to pick the right candidate as there won’t be an abundance like there is in the big cities. Congrats on the interview.