Accidentally sent the draft email.

Welp, I pulled an amateur move. I accidentally sent the initial draft copy of an email (copy in the email itself) in consideration of a job opening. Not too happy with myself right now.

An hour later, I caught my mistake and sent my final copy. Fortunately both emails had the same proofed and reproofed attachments. The initial draft wasn’t horrible, just not up to my standards. The draft reflected my research of the company and the town. I got my general point across. The only MAJOR flub was a missing word and too many sentences starting with the word ‘I’.

My question is, will sending the two emails kill my chances for consideration / would they be turned off from looking at the attachments?

Doh! As a hiring manager I would look past it, everyone does this from time to time on accident, even CEO’s and Presidents. I guess it depends on whether or not they want to be hard-asses about it, but who knows they might be impressed with your proof-reading/editing skills by comparing the two drafts! If you get the interview maybe you can make a clever joke of it.

As a good practice, whenever I sit down to compose an important email I always try to remember to open a blank email and put the address in last, after I’ve proofed it. And never ever hit Send/Recieve, if you save drafts a lot you run the risk of them being blasted out upon hitting Send/Recieve, this happened to me once, but luckily I was able to insta-rescind 99% of it, about had a heart attack though.

It happens. Don’t sweat it.

At least you considered and edited the email. Most if the emails I get seem
Like they were written by a monkey on a blackberry.

I don’t know if I would have resent the email as it draws attention to it, but I’m pretty sure I’ve done the same.

Hr probably didn’t even notice and ultimately it’s probably a design director making the decision.

R