Internship ending: Documenting projects I've worked on.

Hello:

Newbie here and usually a lurker and am seeking advice from professionals who’ve been in my place before:

I am currently interning (post-grad) at a medium-sized company and have worked on some awesome consumer products projects; some making it to market in the near future. As my end date approaches, my director has hinted at me now having some awesome stuff to show in my portfolio, but we didn’t discuss specifics of when to show (only when product makes it to market and not before?) and what to show.

I will have that discussion soon with the director, but should I be documenting projects I’ve worked on now before I leave: taking photographs of mock ups, prototypes, saving copies of files, jpegs of renderings, etc? I don’t want to leave all my good work behind and have nothing to show for when I go seeking employment elsewhere.

The caveat: When I was hired (its a paid internship), they didn’t have me sign a NDA (which I thought was odd), so maybe I should get some clarifications from boss first, but still document everything I’ve worked on? I feel like a spy or like I am doing something wrong; but I just want to make sure I have proof of what I’ve worked on (even if I can’t show it immediately) just for future reference or even if just for my eyes only. Is what I am considering inherently wrong?

PS- I am aware of the perils of showing work I am not supposed to show; so no need to educate me in that area. I’ve read enough posts on NDA’s here on the forums to know better. The design world is small enough, so no need to burn bridges.

If any of you feel uncomfortable posting personal advice to me via this thread, feel free to private message me. Thank you.