HUGE time gap after graduation. What now?

I’m sort of new here… I had an account a few years ago but I forgot my username so ended up creating a new account…

So anyhow, I need some advice and thought this would be the best place.

Long story short, I graduated from college in 2011 (ID major) and I had 2 short-term internships before I finally got offered a full-time job at a design firm in San Diego. However, a week before my flight, I had a serious family emergency and had to drop everything and go back home.

I don’t want to bore you with the details…But the 2 years that followed were tough…spending pretty much my entire time either in the hospital or taking care of my younger brothers at home.

I don’t regret what I did but now that things have finally settled down I feel really lost. I want to get my career back on track but I’m not sure how to start.

It’s been nearly 3 years since I graduated. I only have 9 months of design-related work experience. (unpaid internships) And my portfolio is clearly useless at this point.

I want to make up for the time I lost but I just don’t know where to start.
I considered going to grad school but most of the schools I wanted to apply require a couple of years of work experience at least.

For now, I’ve decided to work on my portfolio and work on some projects on my own.

Do you think this is a good idea…spending a few more months working on my portfolio/skills? Or should I just start with whatever job I can get?

I’m sorry if any of this sounded like I was whining. I just wanted to explain my situation hoping to get any helpful comments/advice.

Thanks in advance.
Andrea

Tough story. I can understand your trepidation in getting back into the working world.